Latest News Highlights

Rev. Father John Mary Waliggo Re-elected Chairperson of Media Council

Friday, 22nd February 2008

Members of the Media Council have unanimously re-elected Rev Fr Dr John Mary Waliggo as Chairperson of the Media Council for the second term. Rev Waliggo is to be deputized by Dr Goretti Nassanga of Makerere University Mass Communication Department.

Rev Fr Waliggo and Dr Nassanga will now be charged with the duty to ensure that Ugandans enjoy the freedom of the media and at the same time guarding against its misuse.

This follows the inauguration of the Media Council by the 3rd Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Information and National Guidance, Alhaji Kirunda Kivejinja in Kampala last Friday.

Other members of the Council are:- Dr Katebalirwe Amooti, Ms Beatrice Were, Mr James Walugembe, Mr Paul Ekochu, Ms Lina Zedriga, Mr Kawooya Mwebe, Mr Wafula Oguttu and Mr Paul Mukasa.

Rev Fr Waliggo is also Chairman of the six-member Disciplinary Committee. The Committee hears disputes related to the media and arbitrates between the Media, Public and Government.

Other members of the Disciplinary Committee include Mr Paul Ekochu, Mr James Walugembe, Dr Goretti Nassanga, Ms Lina Zedriga and Mr Paul Mukasa.

It also has Mr Kawooya Mwebe and Ms Beatrice Were as alternate members. The Media Council was a creation of the press and journalist Act 1995 to regulate the mass media. It is composed of representatives from the Media, Public, Law Society and Scholars of Mass Communication.